Curriculum Overview

Home >> Curriculum Overview

At Eltham North we take great pride in our curriculum. Our Learning and Teaching Programs are designed to encourage and promote a love of life long learning. The Victorian Curriculum forms the basis of the school's comprehensive and integrated curriculum programs. Whilst a wide variety of additional resources materials and texts are used by teachers, the school's curriculum structure and focus is based on these documents.

The Victorian Curriculum

The Victorian Curriculum is the basis for curriculum planning and development in Victorian schools and as such, it is our core resource in teaching and curriculum at Eltham North Primary School.

The Victorian Curriculum provides a stable foundation for whole schooling curriculum and assessment planning. It incorporates the Australian Curriculum and reflects Victorian standards and priorities. The curriculum includes a strong focus on the foundational skills of literacy and numeracy and on personal and social skills, thinking skills and new areas of learning such as computational thinking. The Victorian Curriculum gives students the skills they need for work and life: literacy, numeracy, scientific knowledge and skills, resilience, respectful relationships, the use of digital technologies and the capacity for critical and creative thinking and expression.

Key features of the Victorian Curriculum

  • Structured as a learning continuum, that is, developmental levels that enable teachers to identify current levels of achievement and readiness to learn and then plan to enable students to achieve expected levels.
  • Incorporates all key content in the Australian Curriculum.
  • Capabilities represented as sets of knowledge and skills that are distinct from any single learning area but that students develop and apply across the curriculum.
  • Cross-curriculum priorities (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and culture, Asia and Australian's engagement with Asia and Sustainability) are embedded and included in the learning areas and capabilities, not represented as additional or separate components of the curriculum.
  • Four rather than seven capabilities are included in the Victorian curriculum. the additional three capabilities in the Australian Curriculum are Literacy, Numeracy and ICT. Teachers will develop students' learning of Literacy, Numeracy and ICT across the curriculum.  In Victorian Curriculum these capabilities are incorporated in the learning areas and do not require separate treatment.

Features that are new to the Victorian Curriculum

  • Reference to phonics and phonemic awareness have been strengthened in the English curriculum.
  • The Digital Technologies curriculum includes new learning for F-10 students, including computational thinking, developing and evaluating digital solutions and data collection, representation and interpretation. Learning about coding is included in both Digital technologies and Mathematics curriculum.
  • Reference to respectful relationships and safety in the home have been strengthened and made more explicit.
  • The Victorian Curriculum includes, for the first time, Learning about World Views and religions.  

Parent Resources


(Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority)

Visit the Department of Educations official curriculum resource site to learn about the Victorian Curriculum

Victorian Curriculum